"If Gideon Smith were a baseball player, he’d be batting 1.000. His 3rd full length, 30 Weight, is about to hit via Small Stone Records and it’s a winner. Southern hard rock is the best way to describe it but I’m willing to bet you already knew that. 30 Weight has the band’s trademark sound, vocals and all. The overall sound of the album seems to be a bit darker, especially on the tracks “Bleed Black” (a Saint Vitus cover) and “Shining Star” which reminds me of Danzig. The album takes a 360 from the normal towards the end with a much softer, acoustic and more classic country sounding number with “When I Die.” That’s followed up with a more upbeat track “Come And Howl.” This is a fine album and is one that’s been in my cross hairs since the last album. It didn’t disappoint one bit. The album has a whole range from hard to mellow, high to low. Gideon Smith doesn’t churn out music as quickly as others may, but when he does, it’s always done right. Certainly this is one that will end up on many top lists of 2011, mine included. 30 Weight will be out via Small Stone Records this fall." - Bill Goodman. July 19th, 2011

thesodashop.wordpress.com/2011/07/19/review-gideon-smith-the-dixie-damned-30-weight

 

"Gideon Smith again shows that he truly is a sonic alchemist who is driven by an unbending outlaw spirit. Another proof of this is his new album, '30 Weight', which shows again the stylistic bandwidth of his music. For a long time already, it was obvious that Gideon Smith has more to offer than just stereotypical southern rock. A lot of different influences are incorporated into his music, ranging from psychedelia over hardrock to gothic (not the cheesy kind). He combines all this with a lot of delta blues, country and rock 'n' roll to create a very individual sound. His dark and soulful voice significantly raises its recognition value and it would not be wrong to claim that there's a sonic similarity to other vocalists such as Jim Morrison or Ian Astbury. But on the whole, he just shares the same timbre with these big names. If you listen closely, you realise that Gideon Smith is doing his own thing with regard to his vocal style. His voice is way too unique to be classified and any comparison to other vocalists doesn't do justice. Besides that, it is good to know that '30 Weight' has been recorded with almost the same line-up as on the previous album, 'South Side Of The Moon'. With Phil Durr (Big Chief, Five Horse Johnson, Luder, Giant Brain) on lead guitar, he found someone sharing his ideas of how blues, rock and other elements could be melted togehter to achieve the unique sound that both of them considered to be best. Eric Hoegemeyer (Giant Brain) is the man behind the drums who provides THE DIXIE DAMNED with spot on playing. All this is complemented by a couple of guest musicians including Sue Lott (Slot, Luder). The last time Small Stone Records label chief Scott Hamilton was among the guests, but this time he is "only" involved as label chief. You guessed it, '30 Weight' will be released via Small Stone in 2011. But now back to the music. This is an amazing album from a band of musical wizards. There's so much intensity, swagger and attitude in this album and whoever thinks that music can't be dark and light, heavy and uplifting all at once has never heard the magic of GIDEON SMITH & THE DIXIE DAMNED. The album starts with 'Black Fire' which sets the mood well. There's a dirty and deep feel that draws you into the music along with catchy melodic lines and a memorable chorus. But not only 'Black Fire' is driven by a vintage rock 'n' roll spirit. The same could be said about the whole album which is considerably more rooted in classic rock ('n' roll) than 'South Side Of The Moon'. And yet '30 Weight' is crossed by psychedelic swathes and some outlaw country music. This is particularly true for 'Shining Star' and 'Born To The Highway', but also the fantastic cover version of 'I Bleed Black' (Saint Vitus) has been enriched with a subliminal lysergic undertone. There are a lot of great songs on '30 Weight', but 'Come And Howl' is definitely among my fave cuts. Never before has GIDEON SMITH & THE DIXIE DAMNED had such a strong 1960's vibe in their music. 'Come And Howl' is sexy as fuck and one of Gid's most infectious songs. In contrast, 'Do Me Wrong' is fueled by the love and passion for bands such as The Cult and Circus Of Power. All in all, '30 Weight' is a great album with songs that are some of the best in his entire catalog. Gideon and his ever-changing backing band of musical desperado’s have created a timeless album that could have just as easily been produced in 1968 or 1978 as it was in 2011. A varied yet individual package that fans of the darker side of rock 'n' roll will enjoy. I highly recommend this one." (KK) www.cosmiclava.com

"Over the course of the past 10 years or so and with 2 EPs and 2 previous albums to his name, Gideon Smith has assumed an almost legendary status…even getting his own tribute album. Smith is an outlaw, he operates on the fringes of rock and roll, steadfastly shying away from playing “the game” and that in itself immediately draws people deeper into the fold with his heartfelt amalgam of stoner, blues, country, Goth and rock and roll.

So 2011 sees the 3rd, very long awaited album drop. Without a band per se, Gideon has been assisted by a number of friends to pull together a remarkable piece of work. Aside from Smith on vocals and guitar, the mainstays are Phil Durr (Big Chief, Luder, Five Horse Johnson, Giant Brain) on guitars, bass….etc and Eric Hoegemyer on drums, who also produced this very fine affair. Not that you would think this is anything but a cohesive band playing here and the consistency of the material with the previous releases serves to highlight Smith’s strength as a song writer.

Opening track “Black Fire” is a slinky rocker fuelled by a tasty little slide riff while “Ride With Me” boasts a potential chorus of the year backed up by Sue Lott’s (Luder, Slot) seductive backing vocals. “South” pulls together Smith’s swampy blues and blends it with Danzig’s darker hewn gothic tendencies. Smith’s rich baritone has always been an impressive asset but here he shows a greater sense of depth in his choice of melodies than on previous albums and a greater awareness of the power of a strong chorus.

On “Love Of The Vampire”, Smith kicks the dust off his boots and lays down an ass kicking rocker that isn’t a million miles away from “White Zombie’s “Black Sunshine” but painted a darker shade by Smith’s dark voodoo magic. At this point it should be pointed out that the production shows a far greater level of texture and creativity than past albums. Guitar tones change and weave around each other as thick syrupy fuzz merges with cleaner, bluesier tones. Overall there is more space in the production that somehow serves to make the whole sound more expansive.

An album highlight for many will surely be a stunning reimagining of Saint Vitus’ classic “I Bleed Black”. Eschewing much of the oppressive heaviness of the original, Smith actually succeeds in making the song darker and, well, plain evil…which is ironic as Smith doesn’t actually have an evil bone in his body. The result is akin to Chris Isaac jamming with Samhain if your minds can stretch that far. On the strength of this track alone, should Wino ever choose to jump the Vitus ship they needn’t look too far for a replacement.

Smith channels his inner Cult on “Do Me Wrong”, another of his trademark mid paced, blues inflected rockers that owes a debt to the “Electric” era but swaps the faux biker tendencies for a genuine dust covered world weariness. “Born To The Highway” kickstarts the motor on another Danzig-esque ride through the wastelands, revving the engine on another slice of greased up biker rock.

Another album highlight comes in the form of “Feel Alive”. Contrary to the title, Smith still sounds as though he’s pulling from the darkest corners of his soul as he states “on demons’ wings we’ll fly”, yet the song boasts one of the strongest choruses on the whole album. This is a darkness to be embraced and channelled as opposed to wallowing in it. The same is true of “Shining Star” which brings the mood down a whole notch as gloomy organs vie for space with swampy acoustic flourishes and lap steel. Smith’s rich voice regales us with a tale of his “beautiful girl” and there is a delicate beauty in the apparent sadness.

There’s more irony on “When I Die”, a gentle acoustic/lap steel driven country influenced piece that actually succeeds in sounding far more uplifting than much of the rest of the songs here. The restraint in Smith’s vocals here display the true breadth of his vocal abilities. Imagine Guns ‘N’ Roses “Patience”…but without a whiney prick singing!!!

The album also ends on a high note on “Come And Howl” as Smith digs further back into the roots of rock and roll with a tune that’s part swing, part rockabilly but retaining the usual heavy rocking tendencies shown through the rest of the album.

It just goes to show that if something is good it’s definitely worth waiting for. Smith may not be the most prolific artist around but when he drops a bomb the echoes resound through rock and roll. Here’s hoping he’s able to assemble a band capable of doing this material justice so he can hit the road and get back to where you truly come to believe he belongs." - Ollie Stygall   August 25th, 2011

www.thesleepingshaman.com/reviews/album-reviews/g/gideon-smith-the-dixie-damned-30-weight-cdl

 

http://www.https://stonedsunvibrations.blogspot.com/2011/10/gideon-smith-dixie-damned-30-weight.html#ixzz1cBAYvF

Stoned Sun Vibrations Blog

"Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned are back after 3 years with their third killer release!!!! I hadn't the slightest idea that GS going to release a new record until yeoldstinkeye provided me the album. Released few days ago by Small Stone Recs. (I've wrote a lot of times before about the quality releases under this label), "30 Weight" will be in a lot of "best releases of 2011" lists. It has amazing bluesy grooves, a bunch of monster riffs, southern outlaws' spirit and of course the haunting, deep vocals of Gideon. There is no stop or pause by the time you put "30 Weight" on your player. For the time being I love this one more than their previous two albums. Maybe it's the overall darker feeling... Ah, I forgot to mention that it features to great covers in Saint Vitus' "I Bleed Black" and GG Allin's "When I Die". Highly recommended!" - Istar

 October 29th, 2011

stonedsunvibrations.blogspot.com/2011/10/gideon-smith-dixie-damned-30-weight.html#ixzz1cBAYvF

 

http://www.rhapsody.com/blog/2012/03/metal?lsrc=blg_for_ru_metal

Top 15 Metal Albums on Rhapsody by Chuck Eddy

"For a macho-baritoned shotgun wedding of thick-plod doom metal (including a Saint Vitus cover) to roadhouse blues (in both a Doors and a ZZ Top sense), this feels surprisingly goth -- and not just 'cause there's a vampire song. Still, Smith flies his Carolina flag, naming one track "South," and honky-tonking two Jim Beamed redneck outlaw numbers with lap steel and washboard. Add guitar intros that sound like 1993 Urge Overkill ripping '70s AOR ("Ride with Me") and 1975 Pere Ubu dabbling in Sabbathoid psychedelics ("Born to the Highway"), and the Dixie Damned earn their motorcycle licenses." - Chuck Eddy

March 19th, 2012

www.rhapsody.com/blog/2012/03/metal?lsrc=blg_for_ru_metal

 

GIDEON SMITH & THE DIXIE DAMNED – 30 WEIGHT (SMALL STONE RECORDS) "Through the mist . . . hiding at the end of the alley.  Moonlight reflecting off the rain-soaked streets, illuminating dark corners of the gothic southern night.  Haze swirls around the erected crucifixes topping the tombstones.  Stone angels look on, hiding from the penetrating eyes of the gargoyles. A pulse vibrates.  Heavy.  Intensifying.   Terrifying.

Something stirs in the netherlands.  The mist parts and Gideon Smith steps forward, six-string slung over his shoulders like a shotgun.  The Dixie Damned join in his wake like a sheriff's posse.  Guns are drawn.  Violence is due.

30 Weight may only be Gideon's third official full length releases, but the man is already a legend, worthy of his own tribute album that showcased the exquisiteness of his songwriting.  An outlaw martial artist riding his iron horse into the horizon, the North Carolina native mixes Cult psychedelia, Sabbath occult riffery, and southern rock into his entirely unique blend of netherworld gothic heaviness.  Dust explodes under the weight his boots.  Skeleton's run and hide as he rides into town.  God-fearing folk start praying . . . to no effect.  The legend has arrived.

Still, knowing the man's music as well as I do, I wasn't prepared for the full glory of 30 Weight.  All dispassionate music writing unbiased view point goes out the window here.   This is a fucking amazing album.  Without a doubt the monster in Gideon's catalog, and a true triumph of sludgy Gothic rock.   30 Weight is a testament of crushingly heavy riffs, monstrous bone-shattering groove, eerie bluesy boogie, and unearthly tone.  And by tone I mean mood, imagery, tenor.  Feel the cold, blood-sucking breath of your master bearing down on your neck, cause Gideon is the resurrected spirit of every southern outlaw ever hung at the crack of dawn, crawling back out of the swampy delta cemetery ready to rock havoc upon your town.

And it's all there from the very first second of the first track, "Black Fire."  A haunted moment of slide guitar echoes in the first second before the mother of all slinky guitar riffs explodes into the night sky.  Aided by the incredible guitar work of Phill Durr and the rhythm of Eric Hoegemyer, The Dixie Damned rise from the mud-caked underworld.  Gideon's voice occupies some emotional place that Danzig could only wish to reach, deep and husky, full of nuance and impossible menace.   The song is an epic to lost love, full of mournful reflection and cryptic pain.  It's real and it fucking grooves.   I honestly can't stop listening to it.

But I do, because "Ride With Me" comes next, swaggering out of the speakers like a demonic motorcycle pack on the open highway.  Without ever having met Gideon, I already know that this is his theme song.  His reason for being.   The song to one day be played at his funeral as his leather-clad and tattooed pall bearers carry his mahogany and chrome casket to it's final resting place.  This is his essence, his being, his outlaw philosophy spit out into the wind behind him without a touch of remorse.  You either accept it or get the outta the way.  Against a crushing riff, Gideon sings:

Hands on the wheel

Picking up speed

I do what I feel

Do I look like I give a fuck if you like it?

Ride with me, Baby

And I'm hooked.  I'm there, the engine growling between my legs.  I'm tattooing parts of my body I didn't even know I had.  I'm in the pack.  I'm a member of the damned.  Fuck the world, I'm riding with him.

"South" is pure southern sludge and ethereal mysticism.  A song of sweaty, sultry intensity.  The outlaw lays bare his heart.  His passion is palpable as he takes his woman into the "wilderness of our love."  Layers of guitar swoon and mingle like fluids mixing in the midst of lovemaking.  It's heavy, it's intense, it's dark.  Just the way you'd imagine Gideon to be.

"Love of the Vampire" rips through a quasi-Monster Magnet/Fu Manchu riff before launching off into a blackened voodoo rocker.  Fuzz guitar shreds through the bluesy tone while the darkness of Gideon's vocals weighs down.

There's more, there's so much more.  A plain intensely evil, stripped down cover of St. Vitus's "I Bleed Black,"  the out-and-out riff-rock of "Do Me Wrong," a twisted acoustic version of G.G. Allin's "When I Die," and the kicking groovy haunted blues workout that is "Come and Howl."  But these treasures I'll leave for you to discover on your own.  And discover you must.  If you love rock, if you love mood, if you love blues, sludge, southern gothic, heavy guitars, texture, motorcycles, zombies and undead outlaws, you owe it to yourself to hear this album.  Buy three copies.  Nail one above your door to let the rampaging motorcycle gangs know your allegiance and your bowing to the master.  Let them motor by your house in peace. 30 Weight is epic.  Simple as that."  --Racer

The Ripple Effect Blogspot

 

Hellride Music Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned '30 Weight' SSR

"Gideon Smith is America’s answer to Nick Cave, a prolific musical nonconformist, a talented musician, with an eclectic proclivity towards combining dark, Gothic imagery and psychedelia with American rock n’ roll. And somewhat off his rocker. Lyrically, Gid substitutes Cave’s obsession with all things God and America with the obsession of obsession itself… the gal just out of reach, the gal that was in reach and is no longer and the evil, legendary ones that have you by the proverbial balls and use it for their own fiendish purposes. Many of you may have ex-wives like this. Ah yes, the universal language of unrequited love that serves as kindle to obsession’s dark flame.

Cave and Gid even share the same vocal approach… a deep, emotion-and-whiskey soaked timbre somewhere between Elvis and Satan that can go from a whisper to a scream. Musically, where they differ is in Gid’s distinctly American, Southern Rock approach. Motorcycles, bars, highways, jails and guns are common themes visited in the best tracks, like the darkly shimmering “Shining Star”, the ‘got no friends, got a gun and I’m fixin’ to die’ acoustic number “When I Die” or the infinitely rocking and catchy “Come and Howl”. Where Gid really gets cooking and defines himself is his style of combining a Southern-tinged flair with Roky Erickson-like psychedelia and a darkly Gothic feel for a style completely his own, as encountered in “Black Fire”. He can go from a acid-laced riff into Derek Trucks-like slide guitar solo and make it stick. It’s like Lynyrd Skynyrd meets Roky Erickson meets Joy Division … very distinct is his style. Also of note to this particular audience is his amazing cover of the Saint VItus chestnut “Bleed Black”. His deep baritone voice and style are completely reverential to the visceral and historical impact of the original. You shall not listen and be disappointed.

A personal note regarding Gideon Smith – he’s one of the nicest people I’ve had a chance to encounter via the Internets. Out of the blue, he’ll send me one of his new stickers, a photo or drop me an email to check in. It’s not often an artist will go way out of his way to connect with us hesh rock journalists. And to keep things fair balanced, if 30 Weight sucked I’d tell you the same and he would have respected it. At least I think he would. Ha!

30 Weight gets a lot of repeat listens. Like his British counterpart Nick Cave, Gid’s unique style makes his all-too-infrequent output an engaging and refreshingly original listen. American, Southern-tinged rock n’ roll with dark, Gothic themes and traces of blazing psychedelia are his stock and trade as a musical artist. His lyrical proclivity towards obsession always seems to hint at being at least semi-autobiographical. An artist that lets us in, even if the door is just open a crack, is pretty refreshing in the heavy music genre. 30 Weight is an album I can definitely stand behind as being among the best I’ve heard yet in 2011." - Chris Barnes November 11th, 2011

www.hellridemusicforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=25001

 

The Charlotte Observer Sponsored Show Article

"Gideon Smith & the Dixie Damned -Acoustic Show

"Equal parts dark psychedelic and Southern rock (with nods to Danzig, the Cult, and the Doors and a touch of outlaw country), Smith's work has been fittingly featured in FX's biker drama "Sons of Anarchy" and even warranted its own 2010 tribute album. With Dear Druid and D.C. Leakage." - Courtney Devores

Sponsored Listings

www.charlottteobserver.com

-

http://stonerrockbbq.blogspot.com/.../ace-burgerpenn-brewing-company.ht...

"Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned "Southern Gentlemen" - Part southern rock, part stoner rock, part country with vocals that remind one of a dixie-fied Jim Morrison. "Southern Gentlemen" is the debut album from North Carolina's Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned, and those vocals are courtesy of Gideon Smith himself. "She Is Venus" starts off the album sounding like Danzig meets The Cult by way of Nashville. Make no mistake, that is a good thing. "Whiskey Devil" is one of the best tracks on the album, a laid back drinking/smoking tune with a great groove that rolls alongside the good time party lyrics. The first slide guitar on the album appears on "Draggin' The River" but the song rocks bringing it firmly into southern rock territory. "Outerspace Girl" chills things out a bit, with acoustic guitar and some atmospheric elements showing off some of their desert rock chops, ala Brant Bjork. "The Witch's House" starts off with some excellent guitar work and segues into a great slow groove. Speaking of smokin' guitar work, "Immune To The Poison" begins with a furious solo before it kicks into its heavy riff. "Ghost Rider" is another of the album's shining moments. A must for any night time driving mix when it's pitch black outside, empty highway and nothing but the light of the moon to guide you. "Hello Cigarette Girl" is the curveball on the album, it's another great song, but moves away from the southern/stoner side into a dark, moody 80's alternative selection, if just for a song but it's done really well. "Wish You Were Mine" ends things off with latin-inspired guitar work, the song doesn't rock as much as it does roll sounding like "Saturation"-era Urge Overkill. Their most recent release, "30 Weight" is also a must have, same vibe just a little louder and a little thicker sounding." - Stoner Rock BBQ Blog Oct 2012

 

"30 Weight" Downtune Despondency

"Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned present us with their new release 30 Weight. As expected the CD comes fully loaded with 11 Southern style grooves, cradling the familiarity in which all consistent GS&DD fans love. Each new album produced by these guys is comparable to shaking hands with an old friend, you like how it feels, you know you can trust in their work and after you invest your listening time you’re eternally paid off with the tales being told.   The guys take you on a supersonic, cosmic trip down Hell’s Highway and they own it. Kickin off with Black Fire; that nostalgic sound from the Damned welcomes you into a web of desire that’ll get yer arse shakin. Gideon’s sounds off; 30 Weight’s got grip! Ride With Me puts the emphasis on attitude and freedom Sons of Anarchy style. Two wheels burnin up the highway with not one fuck to give. The Damned are continually in synch as a band, complimenting Gid’s vocals which are effortlessly in a league of their own. The guys feature two well worthy covers on 30 Weight, I Bleed Black by Saint Vitus and When I Die by GG Allin. I’m a bit of an arse when it comes to tribute; either do it right or just fuck off. I really love a good cover and there’s rarely an in between in judgement. I’m either left with a bad taste and instant dislike for the lack of thought involved or I’m hungry for more of what’s behind that cover. No problems for GS&DD, they nail it. Anyone who tributes Saint Vitus must tread carefully to avoid criticism; Gideon Smith & the Dixie Damned MISSION ACCOMPLISHED! I Bleed Black: Traditional feel, torturous vox, guitars creeping, back beat stomping yer skull, its downtuned, its misery drenched… its DOOM. I hope Wino hears this. When I Die eases into a gentle croon embraced by acoustic and slide which transforms into a beautifull portrayed rendition upon the woes of self-destruction. I appreciate this cover on so many levels. The Southern Gentleman and his Damned companions present an amazing tribute to a lost legend and a bottle of Beam. With that the song also relays; R.I.P. GG Allin. Covers conquered \m/.

Rhythm and bass throughout Love of the Vampire oozes sleaze in funked out proportions. Riff hell burns up domination during Do Me Wrong and continues shredding into 70’s soaked Born to the Highway. For more lyrics on lovely ladies slide up the volume for South & Shining Star. So by now you get the idea there’s something for everyone on 30 Weight right? Correct & the Devil agrees its bad arse and blues ridden! 30 Weight closes with Come And Howl; your ‘fuck yeah finale’! Classic Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned throw down! Chuck that beer down yer neck and get yer arse outta that chair! It’s a metal induced shin-dig! If there’s one thing you can count on with these fellas its feel good music. G and the guys get you in the mood for anything fun, without a doubt. I think you should all go out and buy yourself a copy of 30 Weight and join me in this riff raffin. My words are final but nowhere near as good as the proof… Let the good times roll in the land of the Damned."-  Kitty, Downtune Despondency (Australia)

 

Happnening Magazine

"Gideon Smith third full-length album (following the snappily titled South Side Of The Moon) is a strange brew of stoner, southern and dark gothic heavy-rock. Smith’s adherence to the outlaw code is writ large all over the vampiric desert sound of this album. The covers of Saint Vitus and GG Allin numbers show his clear outsider lineage while his evil croon is a pretty unique blend of Tom Waits and Jim Morrison. This whole album is a dark treat." - Austin Matthews

Happening Magazine, Jan. 31,2012

 

"I recently picked up Gideon's latest cd, "30 Weight" from the Smallstone website.  I'm a big Circus of Power, Cult, Black Sabbath, Danzig etc fan so Gid's slow groove, heavy blues, stoner, trippy brand of rock n' roll is right down my alley.  From the opening riff on, "Black Fire" to the heavy gothic vibe of "Lord of the Vampires", underground icon Gideon Smith has delivered another cosmic blend of shamanic rock n' soul madness.  This disc was made for the highway - the boys were even kind enough to include a track titled, "Born to the Highway" - perhaps as a guide for the uninitiated. Also on the disc are a couple of eclectic covers; "I Bleed Black" (Saint Vitus), and "When I Die" (GG Alin) that fit really well with the rest of the disc. Put it in, crank it, blaze one up (if that's your vibe), and follow the setting sun - Gideon Smith will be waiting for you at midnight with a guitar and a song."

-Krzysto Mack, thewolfking.com, and also posted on amazon.com,etc.

 

Brokenbeard.com 

"Gideon Smith and The Dixie Damned "30 Weight" (Small Stone Records) "With one of the most recognizable voices in all of heavy music, the swamp wizard himself, Gideon Smith, returns to howl at the moon with 30 Weight, another album of psychedelic motorcycle blues that has me (and no doubt others of my ilk who have also previously written about The Dixie Damned’s Southern boogie doom) tripping over myself trying to come up with a fresh way to sell the North Carolina band’s super-charmed snake oil. Just like previous full-lengths, 2004′s Southern Gentlemen and 2008′s South Side of the Moon, 30 Weight mixes the spiritual fire-eating of The Cult and the steely-eyed machismo of Circus of Power (see, I’m doing it already) for a deadly concoction of outlaw riffs and acid groove where songs like “Feel Alive” and “Shining Star” are this album’s “Whiskey Devil” and “Shimmering Rain,” respectively. That would also make the song “South” quite self-explanatory, as well. However, Gideon manages to add a few new ingredients to his brew this time around, like female back-up singers on “Ride With Me,” a slow cooked Sabbath vibe on “Bleed Black,” and a country and western feel on “When I Die,” a poignantly raw song in which Gideon strips it all down, including his voice. While GS&TDD fans will find a familiar comfort in 30 Weight‘s cattle skull savagery, the inexperienced can start here and work their way back down the dusty highway the band has forged without feeling like they’ve arrived late to the midnight ritual dance." - Jeff Warren  (Canada)

 

"30 Weight" Album review by Jym Cherry of Doors Examiner, Author

"When I get CD's to review I usually expect a collection of songs loosely connected either in lyrical or musical theme. But Gideon Smith and The Dixie Damned's new CD sounds like a soundtrack to a gothic heavy metal western.

Smith and The Dixie Damned are heavy metal, and some heavy metal, I find, has the same pulsing beat from beginning to end making the album sound like one long song, not so with "30 Weight." All the songs in "30 Weight" have some very classic (or soon should be) classic riffs mixed in with the heavy metal sound. On all songs Smith's voice is a growl but it fits the tone of all the songs. I don't know if Smith intended this or not but there seems to be a narrative to "30 Weight" of lovers seeking more out of life and hitting the road, seeking existential adventure and freedom until they come upon the gothic in the song, "Love of the Vampire," that subtly changes the tone of the adventure and the album. A couple of other stand out songs for me are "When I Die" which has a surprising country twang to the heavy metal, "Come and Howl" seems the best of a 1960's rock song that still sounds fresh today. In "30 Weight" you can almost taste the baked dirt of the desert and see Smith's heat visions rising off the desert highway." Jym Cherry, Amazon.com

 

http://www.earcandymag.com/reviews-1111.htm

"30 Weight" Review by Ear Candy Magazine

"Beefed up with a distinctly darker disposition than what country-tinged blues music normally delivers, Gideon Smith and The Dixie Damned hail their return to the circuit with a jarringly eclectic mix of styles on latest release 30 WEIGHT. This 11-track endeavor finds the North Carolina-based Smith dabbling with a number of different vocal approaches, channeling everyone from Danzig to Hank III over a drastically altering musical landscape skillfully switching from Damned-esque doom rock (“Shining Star”) and brawny biker rock (“Ride With Me”) to jangly acoustic guitar twang (“When I Die”) and a Gothically-charged St. Vitus cover of “I Bleed Black”. Presenting this mixed bag of swagger with a cosmically fortified stream of consciousness (“Born to the Highway”), Gideon Smith reveals a shadowy side to his musical repertoire without dropping the accolade-garnishing stoner rock chock full of southern charm."

-Mike SOS   Ear Candy Magazine November, 2011

www.earcandymag.com/reviews-1111.htm

 

http://templeofperdition.blogspot.com/2011/11/30-weight-by-gideon-smith-dixie-damned.html

Temple Of Perdition (Blog)

"There's bands which we consider too rare, others too under-rated, but concerning GIDEON SMITH and THE DIXIE DAMNED it's immediately both that come in mind, yeah too fuckin' rare and under-rated !!!

Maybe too quickly ranged in the box "Southern Rock", the style of the band is more rich and stripped than one can imagine, especially on this new album "30 weight" where the general mood is darker than usual, for my greatest pleasure ! I read here and there the word GOTHIC regarding this developed aspect on this new album, I would rather say there's new sounds in a music (that remains deeply and simply AMERICAN ROCK'N ROLL) which could remind a bit what we called here "english rock" from the mid 80's with the likes of JOY DIVISION or the darkest early hours of THE STRANGLERS,just simply dark and catchy sounds,without any tendencious and/or reducing GOTHIC image, which in my opinion seem far from the GIDEON's identity and authenticity.

At first, it could seem a bit strange to hear these guys covering "I bleed black" (ST VITUS), but this last just a few seconds and is simply one of the best cover I've ever heard, one of the most personnal in its interpretation but most faithful in the spirit, so haunting, disturbing. All in all, it seems then not so surprising, but nearly logical that they choose this song cause it's pretty much in the vein of the album and the Maryland Doom style presents similarities with the band's main characters : a simple and authentic taste for raw and heavy rock'n roll ! Sure there's differences in the pace of the songs, but where starts doom music exactly ? is it necessary slow and/or epic ?!!! This is more a question of hypnotic heaviness in my opinion and GIDEON knows something about it for sure !!!

His voice is even more beautiful, often described as a cousin of Jim Morisson and Elvis Presley, his performance, here more than ever, leads him right among contemporaries like Peter Steele and Glenn Danzig... This is just my honest opinion, but this guy has really something special in his voice, he's definitely a brilliant modern gloomy crooner !

The bluesy southern feelings are not abandonned at all, just more subtle but still deeply rooted with well balanced rythmic and hot stoner like melodies like on "love of the vampire" and "born to the highway".

I've never been on the road in the States yet, I was yet dreaming of it about fifteen years ago while listening KYUSS or FU MANCHU but (with years passing) things have been a bit eroded with them and for quite some time I was waiting for something new, then "30 weight" came out recently and the dream revived... well , hum, the trip is planed for 2014, so GIDEON, stay wild and free but please come down here before to play this excellent piece of rock'n roll !!!" -  Steph LS  (France) November 27th, 2011

templeofperdition.blogspot.com/2011/11/30-weight-by-gideon-smith-dixie-damned.html

-

"30 Weight" Review from Lords Of Metal

"Gideon Smith will always be headstrong and remarkable; his mix of country, stoner, blues and (gothic)metal (and I probably still forgot something) supported with his dark brown characteristic voice can once more be called captivating. He even succeeds to let the Saint Vitus classic ‘I Bleed Black’ sound more spooky than the original in a strange way. Just a little side note; that diabolic layer in some songs can raise some questions, coming from a man who writes spiritual books about positive thinking. Also again the man has delivered the goods in bringing together a bunch of befriended assisting musicians working as a well oiled machine and bring out the best in performing the final result of Smith’s concepts. Speaking of final results: also the production delivered a real work of art. The former works of Smith could use a bit more structuring production wise, but this time everything fits exactly. Even the more bombastic parts, which can make you think of Danzig at times, always stay transparent, and also all typical details of the several influences are cunningly interlaced in the final picture. This stubborn piece of work may not be suitable for a very large audience, but the fans will really love it. "- Cor October, 2011

www.lordsofmetal.nl/showreview.php?id=20010&lang=en

-

30 Weight Review by Crows N Bones

"Gideon Smith’s most recent offering is a wonderful piece of American rock ‘n’ roll, blending as it does seventies hard rock, stoner, doom and southern rock. Smith is flanked by a tight, kick- ass band and his soulful, smoky voice gives the whole thing its’ distinct character. Occasionally, the album evokes a moonshine version of Danzig’s Rick Rubin era and the riffs fit the Small Stone house style very well, but the blues is never far away.

The real surprise is Smith’s love for British bands like The Cult and Zodiac Mindwarp and the Love Reaction. Perhaps more than any of his albums, this element becomes more predominant this time round, especially in songs like the opener Black Fire and Ride With Me (both of which ride on propulsive riffs), while the catchy as hell Feel Alive might just be my favourite thing here, all AC/DC strut ‘n’ roll and Southern groove. Add a mournful version of GG Allin’s When I Die (Smith knew Allin back in the day) and an awesome cover of Saint Vitus’ I Bleed Black and you have Smith’s most accomplished record to date." - Dimitris Kontogiannis (UK, Crows N Bones)

 

"30 Weight" Review by Melvin McMichaels

Rank and Revue Magazine  Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned '30 Weight' SSR

"North Carolina rocker, Gideon Smith, is back with his long awaited 3rd album and it’s definitely one of his best efforts to date. Gideon Smith & the Dixie Damned were formed in 1997 from the ashes of Polygram Records Act, Animal Bag. I would say the band sounds like the bastard child of The Cult and Black Sabbath… Slightly Danzig-esque minus the kitty litter and tour rider. The overall tone of the music is swampy, dark, and seductive. The cohesiveness of the songs certainly make the lp a solid “front-to-back” recording. While Smith isn’t a pumping out two albums a year, the music always seems to be worth the wait.

The album starts off with one of Smith’s trademark mid-tempo blues-laced rockers, “Black Fire”. Like so many songs on this record, it is accentuated with Smith’s deep baritone voice, slithering melodic guitar meshed over big riffs and a rich chorus chalked full of hooky goodness. Other highlights on this record include “Bleed Black” (a Saint Vitus cover), “Ride With Me”, “Born to the Highway”, and “Do Me Wrong”.

This album managed to sneak right onto my TOP 10 of 2011 list. From the songwriting to the production, Gideon Smith managed to connect the hammer and the nail. If you like dark music that doesn’t make you want to slit your wrists (yes, it’s a fine line), give this one a whirl. "-Melvin McMichaels (Rank and Revue Magazine,etc.)

December 8th, 2011

assholemasqueradeparty.wordpress.com/2011/12/08/gideon-smith-and-the-dixie-damned-30-weight/

 

"30 Weight" Album Review by Michael Toland

Gideon Smith & the Dixie Damned – 30 Weight (Small Stone)

"A burly hard rock shaman, North Carolina’s Gideon Smith has consistently (if sporadically) released solid Southern acid metal statements for over a decade. The swaggering 30 Weight easily satisfies those inclined toward soulful riffs, widescreen baritones and lysergic philosophy. Picks to click: “Black Fire,” “Feel Alive”."

- Michael Toland, Top 10 May 12, 2013

The Big Takeover.com www.bigtakeover.com/top-ten/Michael-Toland-130512

 

Ripple Effect

"Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned 'South Side Of The Moon" (Small Stone Records): Coming from a different side of the riff-mad world of stoner rock, Gideon Smith takes charge of a disc like none other. Brandishing a gothic/rockabilly vocal attack not heard since the Cramps, and fusing that wild vibe to balls out stoner wail, Gideon knows how to make an impression. Not so much straight stoner rock but some wildly bizarre hybrid that I hereby dub, "massively blues-inflected, biker stoner-billy." We'll call it stonerbilly for short. Imagine if you will, a full-out head on collision between a gang of Harley bikers and a fleet of monster trucks on Halloween at midnight smack dab in the middle of a Mississippi bayou. What crawls out of the mud is Gideon Smith in all his flaming glory. Recorded in Detroit and North Carolina, impossibly fuzzed songs like "Indian Larry," "Black Light Wizard Poster," and "Save a Dollar for the Dead," sound unlike anything else I've ever heard in the stoner world. "Black Cat Road," sounds like it should be the theme song to some horror remake of Deliverance, digging deep in a gothic southern vibe. "Devil's Ride," is as big and haunting as you'll find in the genre. This is full-on mad stoner riffing mixed with a hefty dose of good-old-fashioned psychdelia. Big riffs, big vocals, lots of inhalable plant material. What else do you need to have a good time?"  - Racer X July 14th, 2008

http://ripplemusic.blogspot.com

-

KVLT SITE INDIA

Shrikanth Panaman https://www.kvltsite.com

"Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned 'South Side Of The Moon" (Small Stone Records) "Rebel Meets Rebel wasn't good, okay? I'm saying that here because I never got around to saying it and more importantly, this is how it's done. Gideon Smith and The Dixie Damned took about seven years for the follow-up to their debut, but South Side of the Moon with its thirteen tracks make up for it in variety and sheer number. The songs on this album alternate between fuzzy heavy southern rockers and the psych tinged ballads. Indian Larry and Save a Dollar for the Dead are text book fuzzy heavy southern rock goodness and Black Cat Road adds an Elvisian boogie twist over a half-beat. Gideon has the most glorious baritone of all the southern style singers and his great voice and delivery completely drive both the rockers and the ballads. Talk about ballads, the first half of the album has two of these gems in Blacklight Wizard Poster and Daughter of the Moon. Feather's Shadow is a half-ballad, half-rocker and is totally taken out of 70s rock 101. With some swinging drumming, organ and bluesy heavy fuzzy guitars, this shit is so fucking on. My Darling Black Rose and Magic Queen showcase a lot more of the heavy psych leanings of these guys and it's all done flawlessly well, blending with all the purist southern rock bizniz. Time for another laid back ballad - Shimmering Man with its psychedelic backdrop, sweet acoustic guitars, very to-the-point-yet-interesting drumming, Gideon's amazing vocals and the drone ending make this my absolute favourite song on this album. And I want that fuzz pedal! Lay Me Down in Ecstasy is another ballad, this time with reverberating clean guitars complimenting the acoustic guitars and again Gideon doing a Danzig. I adore how backing vocals and synths are used to add to the feel of this song. With no drums, this is the most chilled out the album ever gets. As a complete contrast, the next song Devil's Night is an ass kicking reminder to the days of Alice in Chains, but it's made to fit Gideon's own scheme of things. Way of the Outlaw centers around a great blues based heavy riff and the album closer The Wolf will Survive sounds like Gideon's take on a typical Five Horse Johnson song. Quite a well-rounded album from Gideon Smith and The Dixie Damned. Next time, a lot earlier and a little shorter please. Recommended to the fans of Five Horse Johnson, Dixie Witch, Sixty Watt Shaman, Molly Hatchet, Alabama Thunderpussy and so on." - Srikanth Panaman

-

https://www.leicesterbangs.co.uk

GIDEON SMITH AND THE DIXIE DAMNED 'SOUTH SIDE OF THE MOON" (Small Stone Records)

"If “Last Train to Scornsville” is something of a curate’s egg, then “South Side of the Moon” is a Magpie’s nest. One of the most eclectic and eccentric releases from the label this latest from  Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned is also one of its most accomplished and enjoyable. It’s a well-known characteristic of most Small Stone bands that they wear their influences with pride, but few of them wear quite as many as this outfit from North Carolina. Try sticking a pin into any of the thirteen tracks assembled here and another reference will trickle out: “Indian Larry” is the Steppenwolf you always wished for; “Blacklight Wizard Foster” is a Sabbath / Doors collision; “Black Cat Road” walks the same ground as the Mississippi Allstars; “Feather’s Shadow” summons up a feral southern gothic Elvis; “Shimmering Rain” straddles acoustic Allmans and The Cult alike; while “Lay Me Down in Ecstasy” could be a variation on any number of 80’s/90’s heavy rockers in ballad mode. That the band has graced soundtracks from horror movies to the Sopranos is no surprise, given that the one thing that unites these diverse styles (as well as first rate playing and performance) is the ability to create an atmosphere of tension and impending menace, drawing the required level of danger from their chosen range of primal rock forms. It seems a bit of a cop out to quote from a band’s own My Space page, but for these I’ll make an exception, simply because I can’t sum them up better. Their influences, they say, are drawn from the following:

 “Bayou Swampy & Delta Blues, Trippy Psychedelia, old school 50's-70's rock, 70's outlaw country, Traditional southern rock, Creepy Doom, gothic rock and UFO bred alien influenced Space Rock. Once described as "picture the Allman Brothers on acid, lost in the grand canyon". Described as 'cowboy death rock', 'psychedelic biker rock' and 'southern gothic rock'.” What’s not to like? -  Neil B  (England) November 24th, 2008

www.leicesterbangs.co.uk

-

Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned 'South Side Of The Moon"

"Southern space rock? Hell yes, courtesy of Gideon Smith, whose swampy swagger goes galactic on SOUTH SIDE OF THE MOON, this ecelctic artist's latest 13 track endeavor. Meshing down south jukin' with the trippy acumen of Hawkwind sounds daunting, yet Smith and his backing band, The Dixie Damned (consisting of members of Novadriver and Big Chief) get it right, tossing in some '60s psychedelia on tracks like "Shimmering Rain" for added texture. While his voice makes for an acquired taste (think Jim Morrison duking it out with David Allan Coe), the doom-laden blues jamming heard on "Black Cat Road" and the star-soaked Skynyrd gone skyward shuffle of "Feather's Shadow" fit the bill for a fun and futuristic boogie rock rocket ride." Mike SOS, METAL MANIACS

October, 2008

www.metalmaniacs.com

 

"Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned is a band from North Carolina, also known as Horsemen Country in the world of professional wrestling. Somewhere between the Allman Brothers and mid-period Corrosion of Conformity is Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned, vocals and riffs both grizzled and authentic, unable to be spoken about without using the word "swagger." Gideon Smith is the leading force behind Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned. Not only is he a musician, but he's a writer, too, having released the book "Way Of The Outlaw Spirit". He's also done spoken word and poetry in the vein of a shamanistic southern gothic troubadour (so basically, he's badass across all mediums). From my personal dealings with him to everything I've read about him, Gideon is the coolest, most positive dude in the world. Rock and roll needs more guys like him. Everything needs more guys like him. If he's ever in Southwest Wisconsin, I'll buy him a burger and let him crash on my couch. Buy his music through Small Stone Records" (Ryan Werner)

http://www.https://ourbandcouldbeyourlit.blogspot.com

 

https://www.aural-innovations.com

Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned 'South Side Of The Moon' (Small Stone Records):

"I had never heard of this guy but damn, I totally dig the sound, the vibe and voice. These guys are not all that prolific but they lay down some cool shit here. Some of it is hard edged MC5 meets Lynryrd Skynryd type stuff and other slower, more stoner groove stuff infused with some blues. What more can I say, check the mutha's out. It rocks! It is a great and different CD.

 - Scott Heller Aural Innovations.com

 

Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned "South Side Of The Moon" (Small Stone Records) :

"Small Stone Records firmly challenge the notion that people are sick of swung quarter notes and declarations of whiskey consumption with one of their stalwart acts, Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned. Smith and company have been kicking around for years in their home state of North Carolina, busting out heavy southern-flavored rock with Smith's unmistakable drawl leading the charge. His voice is deep and full of attitude, even when delivering goofy lyrics like in "Blacklight Wizard Poster," drawing comparisons to early Mannhai or even Danzig. It's a slightly unique vocal approach for a very conventional style of music. Not to say that the music is bad. It's all very well done, with propulsive rock grooves and desert mystique that'll attract curious rock fans all over. There's a lot of twangy guitar action and old school sentimentality running through these numbers, which is hardly surprising given Smith's penchant for recording in vintage studios. Gideon Smith is an old fashioned kind of guy, and it shows in the music. While songwriting has matured since the debut album, Southern Gentlemen, the essence of blues and early rock 'n roll still permeates this slab of stoner rocking fun. This album pays homage to a lot of great traditions in rock music which Smith himself lives by. Anyone who's read his memoir, Way of the Outlaw Spirit, knows that he's got the rock journeyman thing going on both on and off record. He talks the talk and walks the walk, and this is just the sort of music you'd expect from a full-blooded rock 'n roll soul. In A Word: Traditional. "- Will Schwartz, THE AQUARIAN

http://www.theaquarian.com

-

Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned 'South Side Of The Moon' (Small Stone Records)

"It's been four years ago since the last album 'Southern Gentlemen' and even when there was the 'Dealin' Decks' EP in between, it seems to me as if the wait was endless until the release of the second full-length from GIDEON SMITH & THE DIXIE DAMNED. But it was worth waiting for it, because 'South Side Of The Moon' is simply superb. It looks as if only a very few members are left from the old line-up of THE DIXIE DAMNED, but instead a lot of friends supported Gid like for example Phil Dürr (Big Chief, Giant Brain), Mark Miers (Novadriver) among others and even Small Stone Records chief Scott Hamilton unpacked his guitar to participate at the recording sessions in Detroit, while other songs have been recorded in North Carolina. 'South Side Of The Moon' has been a long time in the making, but the work was successful, because GIDEON SMITH & THE DIXIE DAMNED never sounded so fully developed and varied like here. Also the production, done by Eric Hoegemeyer and Al Sutton, is more differentiated than on any other release. What I also love is the psychedelic spirit, that runs like a red thread through the whole album.

Beautiful ballads like for example “Daughter of the Moon” or “Lay me down in Ecstasy” particularly sound as if they have been recorded after a mescaline-soaked night in the desert, while GIDEON SMITH’s dark and bluesy shaman-like vocals remind of Jim Morrison, Ian Astbury or Glenn Danzig. Needless to mention that he doesn't try to reproduce their low tone, because he develpoed his own unique style over the past years, so don't get it wrong here. “Save a Dollar for the Dead” is one of the few moments where I can hear some belligerent undertones in his voice comparable with a wolf that bares his teeth. “Feather’s Shadow” knows to surprise with the sound of an additional hammond organ, while “Black Cat Road” is branchless Delta Blues, but every single song here is peppered with a lot of good ideas. The foundation of GID's music remains Southern Blues, Country, 70's hard rock, outlaw poetry, 50's Rock 'n' Roll and a lot of authenticity that is hard to find in current times. On the whole 'South Side Of The Moon' is a damn intense and honest album, that offers much more than the stereotypical Lynyrd Skynyrd-styled Southern Rock, but that was always a trademark of GID's music. By the way, the idea for the album title as well as the artwork is just felicitous. Now you have only to buy this awesome album." - K.Kleinowski, Cosmic Lava Germany.

 

https://www.hellridemusic.com

Kevin McHugh

Gideon Smith "South Side Of The Moon" (Small Stone Records) :

"I put it to you that you cannot understand Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned without understanding Gideon Smith himself. I've never met him face to face, but he is by all accounts an amazing individual. If you want to check that out ,and I suggest that you do, get on a search engine for books and snag a copy of his self-published volume, 'Way of the Outlaw Spirit.' Without denigrating the book, I'd say that it needed a grammatical editor, but throughout its pages it is still clear that Gid is a man of wisdom, a practitioner of the martial arts, a mystic of sorts, and a rocker who walks the walk, irregardless of material gain. If that's not enough, surf the net until you come up with his legendary interview with Hellridemeister Chris Barnes from a few years ago, when the Dixie Damned's first long player, 'Southern Gentlemen' was released. That'll clench it. As a matter of fact, 'southern gentleman' is a good phrase to describe him. After all, how many people that you've never met before actually e-mail you, just to see how you're doing, not wanting anything? That's Gid. He's an outlaw who cleaves to his own rules, yet he is as far from a criminal as you can get, and that's an important distinction. Like many southerners, he believes that rock came from the south, and that its spirit abides there. The listener will immediately recognize that as hard and metal as this release may be, there's no doubt that it's form the south, Charlotte, North Carolina to be exact. Yes, you've heard something like this before, but it's none the worse for that. The album is rich in classic blues-soaked riffs, power chords, and slide guitar aplenty, not to mention the occasional laid-back ballad. Gideon's distinctive Elvis-meets-Danzig vibrato soars above all the Sabbath-meets-Skynyrd tuneage, and it is good. Lovers of old Alabama Thunderpussy, Dixie Witch, Throttlerod, and Halfway to Gone take note. This is prime hard rocking from south of the Mason/Dixon line. The Dixie Damned perform tightly yet organically, spot-on and creative. Special props to the mighty Phil Durr, ex-Big Chief, for remarkable performances on bass and guitar. So if you want to belly up to something familiar yet fresh, break out your chain wallet for some crazed dudes who somehow manage to be southern gentlemen, both on and off the record." - Kevin McHugh  HellRide Music 2008

-

Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned "South Side Of The Moon" (Small Stone Records)

"With various recordings under his belt and having just finished up writing his first book, the reclusive Gid returns to his first love, which is recording, in this case, another full-lengther. Would be easy describing this as a heavy rock/metal effort but it's more. This close relation could be Roadkill Rock, with its emphasis on driving ("Indian Larry," "Black Cat Road"), Southern feistiness, righteousness and plain orneriness with a black-light, trippy overlay. Love the high energy levels here. Other songs have a more old-fashioned, down-home, Led-Zep-meets-Lynyrd-Skynyrd vibe, with, Stevie-Ray-Vaughan-ish, moonshine slide guitar and industrial strength drumbeats. The Verdict: After a long layoff, health problems and personal problems resulting from the death of his drummer a number of years ago, Gid survives the pain, gathers his energy and delivers the goods. Way better than expected, it's the perfect antidote for your music snob friends. And just where does he get that sub-sonic, hellhound of a voice? -Lew Herman, Creative Loafing Weekly 2008

 

https://www.angelfire.com/zine2/westsidedave/Reviews53.html

West Side Dave

GIDEON SMITH AND THE DIXIE DAMNED 'SOUTH SIDE OF THE MOON" (SMALL STONE RECORDS) :

"How best to describe "South Side Of The Moon", the most recent album from Gideon Smith And The Dixie Damned? Maybe if Peter Steele had started out in juke joints or Glenn Danzig had been born on the bayou [apologies to John Fogerty], they might have come up with the sort of music found here. Calling it "New Southern Rock" doesn`t cut it, as those new Southern Rock acts sound like Modern Country, which itself is basically `Eighties Pop-Rock in shit kickers and cowboy hats. But why lable it al all? All that matters is whether the music is good, which it is indeed. Tracks like “Indian Larry”, “Black Cat Road”, the psychedelic heaviness of "Magic Queen" evoke images of humid Southern nights, cheap whiskey, stale cigarettes, dimly lit rooms. Sadly, when people hear the term "Indie Rock", hordes of whiney, baby-faced college students are what invariably comes to mind, not a TRUE independent artist like Gideon, who live through his music and has the scars to prove it. So do yourself [AND Gideon!] a favor; go to his page and buy his stuff. You`ll thank me later!  - West Side Dave June 23rd, 2010

 

"Gideon Smith & the Dixie Damned – South Side of the Moon (Small Stone Records):

"Gideon Smith and his Dixie Damned are back and they have a few new tales to be told from the South Side. I just love these fellas, they possess psychedoomelic powers! So what have we got here? Gid is a philosopher and his words are embraced with melody and mar by his Dixie Damned. There is something spiritual in their way and they often seem to whisk you along that journey with them. Gideon’s words are sage like and his crew continues to colour his tales with familiarity…. Honestly… some bands never lose their ability to kick you in the arse….To offer mention to personal favourites: Shimmering Rain… untouchable music… food for the soul…Black Cat Road… Bring it on down! *black tooth grins & bruised shins* yeeeehaw! Keep bringing those blues from the South you Damned Dixie’s; there’s a whole crowd out here that have been shindiggin-headbangin to your wares since the good ole daze! Gideon Smith you are a gentleman, a story teller & a friend and I wish you nothing but love. Please check out this little treasure...." Nikki – Downtune Despondency (Australia)

 

ROCK & RAP CONFIDENTIAL

"Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned 'South Side Of The Moon' (Small Stone Records) :

"The Southern rock tradition may have been subsumed by country and trumped by metal but it refuses to die. At first listen this North Carolina group is reminiscent of Black Oak Arkansas, but then you notice that Smith, who claims Zora Neale Hurston as a primary influence, is a (little) better than singer Jim "Dandy" Mangrum and the band is a lot better. They roar through the likes of 'Save a Dollar for the Dead' and 'The Wolf Will Survive', only to melt seamlessly into a lovely ballad like 'Daughter of The Moon'." - Lee Ballinger (check out Lee's excellent book on Lynyrd Skynyrd)

www.heavysoundsandtheabstracttruth.wordpress.com/

"Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned 'South Side Of The Moon' (Small Stone Records)

"We all dream of musical genref*king. Whether we're seeking the ultimate combination of the three S's in stoner rock (that would be the Stooges, Sabbath and Skynyrd, and no, I don't know anyone who's gotten the balance right yet) or that elusive hybrid of hip-hop and Japanese folk music, every diehard has his or her little fantasy. Gideon Smith and his rotating cast of Dixie Damned fulfill some wishes with his third album South Side of the Moon. Though based in North Carolina, Smith likes to record in Detroit, and here he has a grand old time knocking together the heads of Southern rock and Motor City power rock until there's blood up to his ankles. Guitars swirl, taunting and teasing with power chords and liquid leads, mostly rattling amp tubes but sometimes eschewing demon electricity; the rhythm section follows the feedback 'n' fuzz-soaked leads. Smith's got a big, burly bear of a voicebox, full of roughhewn heart. He often sounds like he's about to leap over the top, but always holds back, creating a smoldering vocal presence full of brooding manliness and nekkid power. He gives big rockers like "Black Cat Road," "Devil's Night" and "Blacklight Wizard Poster" the requisite conviction (and a good thing, too, as his lyrics don't bear much scrutiny), but he really shines on lysergic balladry like "Lay Me Down in Ecstasy," "Daughter of the Moon" and "Shimmering Rain." South Side of the Moon won't stand up to intellectual appreciation, but that's not what Gideon Smith is about anyway. It's all about feel, baby, and this feels goooood." - Michael Toland, www.sonicruin.com

 

Gideon Smith "South Side Of The Moon" (Small Stone Records)

"As the punny title would suggest, South Side of the Moon is much more tongue in cheek-y than previous Dixie Damned discs ("Blacklight wizard poster/ Freaking me out!"). It's like Angel II: Avenging Angel. You know, a wry satire on the genre it helped create. That's not to say that it won't roll over your skull like a tank, because it most certainly does; buzzing stoner-punk crushers like "Save a Dollar for the Dead" and "Devil's Night" offer prime gonzola, and nuzzle comfortably next to narcotic deathjams like the woozy "Magic Queen". I'm just suggesting ol' Gid is having fun with this one, flipping through old copies of Creepy and Outlaw Biker while he plays his BOC and MC5 8 tracks on an endless loop. It's an homage and a send-up and a big, greasy, gorgeous slop-bucket full of deep, rumbling Man-Rock. – Sleazegrinder, Ken McEntyre 2008

 

"F.T.W. – A Tribute to Gideon Smith: It’s a testament to a man when bands come racing out of the wood-work, begging to be a part of a tribute album, and I’m sure that’s what happened when the news broke that this project was being born. Culling bands from across the US, Canada, and Europe, F.T.W. is an imaginative reworking of 17 classic tracks from the underground rock ‘n’ roll outlaw, Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned. For those who don’t know the name, Gideon Smith is a neo-legend of swaggering, tomb-bound, voodoo rock. Described as a rock star, a philosopher, a poet, a sage, and a writer, Gideon Smith is known to have some of the heaviest mojo outside of the Delta. And let me tell you, each of these bands attacks their assignment with ferocity and reverence. Cover albums can be played in one of two ways, either straight or re-imagined. I’m a big fan of the second style, and listening to these gothic southern rockers remade as punk, rock, southern rock, Doom, Black Metal, Death, Country, Techno Pop, and Stoner Rock odes is simply a blast. Way too many songs to point out all the highlights, but it starts right off the bat with HK Family’s crunchy “Whiskey Devil” with one helluva fine mid-song reggae breakdown before jumping in the hearse for Barnburner’s death dirge of “Wishing Well.” Honky Tonk Hustlas bust out a Gothic Country rampage to “Breaking Hearts and Horses,” that just kicks serious denim and leather ass, while Red All Over surprise with a bouncy techno bop remaking of “Draggin’ the River,” that is just too good to believe. But the greatest testament to the mad talents of this gruff genius is how his music translates so seamlessly to which ever style the bands want to play. Through it all, the real songcraft shines through, and that’s the real story here, just how strong a songwriter Mr. Smith is. Perhaps this is never as plain as on Dear Druid’s version of “Lay Me Down in Ecstasy.” With it’s hushed vocal, disembodied harmonies, and shockingly evocative melody, this may just be one of the most haunting songs I’ve heard all year. So beautiful, the first time I heard it it actually took my breath away. I know Gideon enough to know how humbled he must’ve been by this outpouring of love for his music. Forget those descriptors I used to describe him in the second paragraph, at his essence Gideon is an artist of vision and essence, but he’s also a man of the earth, a man of humility and honor. I’m sure he looked at this project as an unnecessary praise for his work, but I’m hearing it as a necessary addition to his legend. Good on ya, Gideon." --Racer, The Ripple Effect Blog, Nov.2010

 

"Gideon Smith : a true Rock and Roll outlaw, outlaw writer/poet and above all a great human being. Here we have a musician that defies the heavy music scene by ignoring what everyone else is doing and has created his own brand good ol’ Southern heaviness. Not your typical stoner rock here, this is a man with integrity and originality.  I wish there were more musicians and bands like this out there instead of the constant Southern Rock wannabe’s that churn out the same thing year after year. Truly a man who is not afraid to take a chance and is not afraid of what people think. An admiral attribute lacking in the music industry severely. Since interviewing Gideon for Downtune Despondency several years ago we have kept in touch, he was a pleasure to work with back then and has remained a friend since then. I have enjoyed watching Gideon work hard over the years and expand his horizons. A self made man. If everyone treated me with as much friendliness and respect as Gideon has, the world would be a much better place." - Cavewizard, Downtune Despondency (Australia)

 

Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned - Dealin' Decks EP CD (Scarey)

"Heavy duty stoner rock outta North Carolina. I'd imagine these dudes blast out their Sabbath and Skynyrd records loud each weekend while working on their Harleys and drinking buds in their garage. Singer Gideon sounds a bit like a more evil Ian Astbury. Highlights are "Breakin' Hearts And Horses" and "Blood Fire". Solid stuff. The band has previously released the "Southern Gentlemen" full length album. If you dig: Molly Hatchet, Alabama Thunderpussy, Raging Slab" -Jens. Lowcut Magazine (Germany)  Nov.4th,2005

 

Metal impact.com

"Il y avait longtemps que je n’avais pas mis le nez dans le moteur de ma Ford. Le radiateur était dans un piteux état, les pistons à moitié morts, et l’huile devait se sentir claustrophobe puisqu’elle s’était étalée partout. Pas vraiment envie de me coller du cambouis sur les mains, mais pas envie non plus de l’apporter au vieil Ed, qui allait encore me faire payer 100 billets pour une réparation de fortune. Je devais pourtant partir, prendre la route tôt, écumer les routes désertiques jusqu’à plus soif et rejoindre Bill pour une dernière tequila, avant de passer la frontière. Putain, le Mexique…J’ai alors décidé de balancer un truc dans l’autoradio, défoncé certes, mais encore capable de cracher ce qu’il faut de décibels. Un pote chelou m’avait refilé un CD qui payait pas de mine. GIDEON SMITH & THE DIXIE DAMNED. Pochette assez naze, la confiance était limite, mais bon, comme je ne pouvais aller nulle part, je l’ai collé quand même dans le mange-disque et je me suis assis. La voix du bonhomme m’a d’abord un peu rebuté, mais on s’y fait vite, parce que le backing-band derrière est pas là pour amuser la galerie. Ca sue, ça suinte la graisse même. Rien que le titre d’intro, « Indian Larry » m’a filé la pêche en moins de temps qu’il ne m’en faut pour descendre une canette. C’est greasy, ça colle aux santiags, et ça fait tourner la tête pire qu’une vieille caisse de bourbon. C’est dingue ce groupe, il peuvent aussi facilement passer du Boogie atomique (« Feather’s Shadow »), au Heavy diabolique (« Devil’s Night »), en passant par des ballades au doux parfum du LYNYRD (« Daughter Of The Moon », « Lay Me Down In Ecstasy »).

Polyvalents on dirait, mais toujours authentiques. Les riffs dodus, les arpèges doucereux, le rythme trapu, on dirait le Sud. C’était pourtant bien. Ma Ford me fait chier, je vais la coller à la casse. La tequila attendra et Bill aussi. Après tout le Mexique ne va pas bouger. Moi non plus. Je vais réecouter South Side Of The Moon. On voyage aussi bien avec ça.

Et plus léger…"   (FRANCE)

Ajouté :  Jeudi 22 Mai 2008

Chroniqueur :  Mortne2001

Score : 4 stars of 5  

 

Lollipop Magazine

GIDEON SMITH AND THE DIXIE DAMNED 'DEALIN' DECKS" EP

"Like Southern gentlemen hurtling into the mystic, Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned play rock and roll as if in the throes of a whiskey shaman. Yes, I suppose it's "only" rock and roll, but it's rock and roll that could command the hips of the most frigid of bitches, its greasy, slinky rhythms the same sorts that moistened panties and panicked parents 50 some years ago.

Dealin' Decks is the third Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned release, a six-song EP meant, perhaps, to mark time until the next full-length, due in 2006 on Small Stone. However, it accomplishes considerably more. It maintains the high standard of songwriting that prior releases have displayed, and it truly envelops you in the band's mythic South, the same sort of place you might read about in Absalom, Absalom! Forget about the bleatings of wanna-be Southerners who wear stars-n-bars hats and probably have no idea what sweet tea is, this is music that will transport you to a land of dirt roads and trees that whisper in the dark. And by the time you've given the chilling closer "Dionysus Child" (whose percussion is played by a dead man) a few spins, you'll be haunted by this place until you return by playing the record again."   Brian Varney Lollipop Magazine

GIDEON SMITH & THE DIXIE DAMNED 'SOUTHERN GENTLEMEN" (SMALL STONE RECORDS) "So if you judge an album by it's title, you might get to thinking that Gideon Smith and his band of confederates are one of those "southern rock" bands. True, there some of that in this album, but it goes deeper than that. Mr. Smith knows the value of a good riff. From the opening of "She is Venus" with that down-to-business riff and Smith's Elvis-meets-Charlie Daniels rumble, you know that Southern Gentleman is gonna be a winner. Any fans of AC/DC, the Cult...hell even the bands the Outlaws or the Allman Bros., you'll dig this. Some tunes worth noting include maybe the first Skynryd-in-space number I can think of... "Outerspace Girl". That is a friggin' cool song just because I don't think Southern Rock has ever ventured into outer space before. "Shovelin' Time" is a barn-burner...between Smith's smoking vox and the killer riff, sceptics don't stand a chance." Chris Barnes  Hellride Music November, 2001

-

Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned "Dealin' Decks" Scarey Records

"As the bottom feeding "pick your scene" mentality so predominant these days has proliferated to virtually every corner of the musical map, it has become nearly impossible to track down a sincere, resonating note anywhere. These times when all hope of truth in music seems lost are the exact moments you need to stumble across a guy like Gideon Smith. Sitting atop his solitary, swamp-surrounded throne as the rock n' roll shaman of this generation, Gid's lamentations on love lost, fallen brothers, and the cold metallic taste of daggers in the back are juxtaposed by the celebration of love's great healing power, the strength we all have inside to overcome life's pitfalls, and the beauty that comes when those powers are unlocked to us. With this Dealin' Decks EP, our captain is back once more with his Dixie Damned to remind everyone what the genuine article looks and sounds like. The results, as always, are magick.

 One thing that has continually plagued Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned throughout the years is the improper tagging of their sound as "stoner rock," likely a perception based on who was releasing their output than anything else. On the contrary, at its core this music is pure hard rock, primarily in the mold of Circus Of Power. This base sound is mixed with so many different styles from across the board, it's often impossible to classify the band period. As far as being a frontman is concerned, make no mistake, though--Gideon Smith is in possession of the baton once held by Jim Morrison, Ian Astbury, and Zodiac Mindwarp. He is the biker poet laureate of our time, and yes, rock n' roll shaman.

All of these incredible traits would be wasted without great songs. Thankfully, that has never been a problem for Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned, Dealin' Decks being no exception. Kicking the disc off is "Dreamchaser." Driven by its lurching, ominous main riff, this one most recalls the aforementioned Circus Of Power. "Last Night On Mother Earth" does a fantastic job of channeling Sonic Temple/Ceremony-era Cult, while the grooved out "Blood And Fire" will likely be the fave amongst those expecting "stoner rock." On "Breakin' Hearts And Horses" a funky riff coupled with a shade of Sun Records croon adds up to the closest these guys will probably ever come to "Viva Las Vegas." "Disco Devil Forever" brings a prime Cramps/Gun Club slant to the table, bordering on psychobilly. Closing this amazing journey is the haunting, spare, acoustic number "Dionysus Child." Coming off as the sonic equivalent of shadows swirling around a medicine circle bonfire, this aural embrace ensures Dealin' Decks' enchantment won't fade after the final notes fall.

It's obvious every time you hear Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned that this is a man who has been close enough to his demons to shake their hands, then snapped their forearms in three places to escape that grasp and come out wiser on the other side. So many people these days are content to try and pose as the contrived, false idea of what a badass is. In reality, it is the man who can build people up best that is the most dangerous. It's clear Gid would rather see you win and help guide you to that place but who better to do the tearing down than a master architect when a wrong has been done. You can hear sacrifice in the grooves of Dealin' Decks--a trait sorely missing in the present musical climate, where the underground has become as sickening as the corporatized mainstream. These guys aren't towing anyone's line--just giving it to you straight. It's a listen that's beyond essential--it's damn near heroic."

June 2005, Daniel Rowe (music journalist, HOS)

 

GIDEON SMITH AND THE DIXIE DAMNED 'SOUTHERN GENTLEMEN" (SMALL STONE RECORDS)

"The demos that would become Southern Gentlemen -- the first full album from North Carolina's Gideon Smith & the Dixie Damned -- were purportedly laid down in the hallowed setting of Memphis' Sun Studios using vintage equipment breathed upon by the King himself. Whether this be truth or fable, one has to admire main man Smith for having both the foresight and the balls to conjure such a mystical/historical backdrop for an LP that defies easy categorization. In fact, it dares imagine what Elvis (or at least Glenn Danzig) would sound like singing stoner rock. This queer experiment is less surprising when buried under the chugging riffs of the likes of "Whiskey Devil," "Shovelin' Time," and opener "She Is Venus" but it comes to the fore when the Dixie Damned slow things down into psychedelic and space rock-tinged grinds like "Outerspace Girl," "The Witch's House," and "Ghost Rider." Southern rock and country also provide crucial touchstones throughout, but are particularly evident on the slide guitar of "Draggin' the River," the all acoustic "Wish You Were Mine," and the haunting "Hello Cigarette Girl," which evokes strong memories of Masters of Reality and cites monster trucks -- yeehaw! In short, Southern Gentlemen offers stoner rock with a twist, ideal for those willing to risk something new." -Ed Rivadavia December, 2004 allmusic.com

 

GIDEON SMITH AND THE DIXIE DAMNED 'SOUTHERN GENTLEMEN" SMALL STONE RECORDS

"'Gideon Smith' sounds like one of those bounty hunters out in the desert, drinking rattler blood out of a tin cup and waiting for the stagecoach to show up so they can shoot somebody, and 'Dixie Damned' sounds like an outlaw biker gang cartoon that they show to Southern children to teach them how to clean their pop guns properly, in lieu of that honky-assed 'Schoolhouse Rock' shit- so there's a lot to live up to here. Luckily, GS&&TDD live up to their daunting and unwieldy moniker. Gid himself traveled to Memphis in search of holy ghosts for inspiration, bringing back a pocketful of scribbled-on cocktail napkins and haunted demo tapes, the basis for 'Southern Gentlemen'. As such, there's a lonesome, black cat skeleton to these songs, but Lord, did they slather some heavy meat onto their bones. Kind of a Satanic mechanic suture of 80's British biker metal riff merchants- think Tank and rogue Male- and a liberal dose of Skynrd and Blackfoot redneck groove. Proof of the North Carolina boys heritage lies in Shine Kelleher's mean assed slide guitar, it burns like piss in the eyes, and drives these songs into a big and scary wonderland of good 'ol boys with bad intentions. "Southern Gentleman" absolutely erases any of the damage done to Southern rock by 38 Special, and the Dixie Damned are leaders in a pack of wild new Confederate soldiers- Isabelle's Gift, Gonzalez, Slim, and Sinis, to name several, who are shocking the withered, denim clad corpse of Southern rock back to howling life. ZZ Over The Top, if you will." - Ken McIntyre January, 2002 Sleazegrinder.com

 

MOTEL/ KING 16 MAGAZINE: GIDEON SMITH AND THE DIXIE DAMNED 'SOUTHERN GENTLEMEN" SMALL STONE RECORDS: "Imagine the Allman Brothers on acid lost in the Grand Canyon. can you feel it? Slide steel guitars, rotten teeth, bar fights, blind barking dogs, sex in the barn, hot tiny bikini mamasitas toasting in the sun -- all embraced in a voodoo sleazy trance soundtrack." Leonardo Calcagno (ITALY) March, 2003

 

Lollipop magazine

GIDEON SMITH AND THE DIXIE DAMNED 'SOUTHERN GENTLEMEN" (SMALL STONE RECORDS) :

"Five guys whose bar tab would probably dwarf most people's weekly income, Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned play a brand of southern rock that is becoming less and less common. As more and more bands, esp. within the stoner camp, adopt the iconography of the South (how many more times do we have to see a band of Californian ex-punk rockers with Confederate flags draped over their amps?) as a means of, I dunno, rebellion or irony or humor or something, rock music with real Southern flavor, that laconic, almost casual gait of a true Southerner, is going the way of the LP.

Well, for those of you miss it like I do, Southern Gentlemen is something you really need to hear. Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned can crank up the Marshalls and rockthefuckout just as well as any band you might care to name, but even when they�re at their most furious, the playing is loose and free in a way that places the unmistakable stamp of the South upon it. Or maybe I've just read too much Faulkner and I'm looking for something that isn't there.

So I guess all that Southern business is open for debate. But what isn't is the strength of the band's songs. All eleven songs, from gut-stompers like "Draggin' the River" to the psychedelicized ballad "Outerspace Girl" roll off the band members' collective fingers like honey, as if they were fully formed entities that the Mr. Smith & company casually snatched from the air. And Gideon's voice is the perfect topper, strong, clean and soulful in a way that brings Paul Rodgers to mind (and I don't toss that name around with impunity, understand?).

Though I'm sure the band worked very hard on Southern Gentlemen, the impression one gets from listening to it is of something casually tossed off; and it is perhaps this, more than any elements of the music itself, that really evokes the South. A tour of this CD evokes a casual stroll along a dirt road that ends at a backwoods juke joint full of drunken rowdies." Brian Varney, Lollipop Magazine  November, 2001

GIDEON SMITH AND THE DIXIE DAMNED "SOUTHERN GENTLEMEN" (Small Stone Records): "I have of course heard of Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned before (only good stuff), but this is the first time I've actually have had a chance to listen to their music (that I can remember). They released an EP on the Game Two label a year or two ago that got rave reviews all over. "Southern Gentlemen" is their first full length release... and it's pretty damn good...

The first time I listened to this album I did so just after having listened to Backdraft's new "Here To Save You All" album and these two bands actually have a lot in common... I'd go as far as to say that both these bands have taken heavy southern rock to new levels. Gideon Smith & The Dixie Damned might have just a tad more metal in their sonic brew compared to Backdraft, but just like Backdraft they mix it up with just the right amount of psychedelia, countryrock and delta blues to make the tastiest southern heavy rawk 'n' roll since Raging Slab started out in the late '80's... There's not a dud among the 11 tunes on this album, but I still have a couple of favorites... "Whiskey Devil" with it's heavy boogie groove, the laidback psychedelia of "Outerspace Girl", "Ghost Rider" with it's perfect mix of laidback psychedelia and powerful riffing and "Knifedance" with it's 'stonerific' groove...

If you like heavy southern rock you should definitely add this great album to your collection!"

 - Hogfeldt  Stonerrock.com November, 2001

 

"Envision yourself sitting in a dimly lit bar listening to this amazing guitar fuzzed bluesy rock band playing in the backround. This is the impression I get from listening to these guys play. They say their influences are southern rock, blues and psychedelic. You can distinctly here all these influences throughout both albums. I would compare the sounds of these guys to bands like The Doors meets Circus Of Power. Both albums are very good for a listen straight through, but my most fave pick from both disks would be' Draggin' The River'. I just love how this song carries. Almost sounds sleazy good! " - Cd review conducted by Mercy @ ~Rebel Music~ 2008

 

"Oh yeah, it's been a while ago, since Mr. Gideon Smith and his backing band THE DIXIE DAMNED have given any kind of lifesign. The first full length "Southern Gentlemen", that has been released by Small Stone Records some years ago, is still a timeless album with a sound that is influenced from traditional outlaw blues as well as from 50's rock 'n' roll, country rock and, of course, Lynyrd Skynyrd. But in opposite to other heavy bands which are also inspired by Skynyrd or Blackfoot, Gideon Smith isn't focused on brutal southern heaviness, but more on a traditional way to let out his tales about broken hearts, inner demons, spiritual awakenings and other outlaw experiences. Due to his roots, he had also done recordings in the legendary Sun Studios, where he payed tribute to his musical heroes. But shortly after the release of "Southern Gentlemen", life shows it darker side and suddenly drummer Boo Creepy, who was also a long-time friend of Gideon Smith, died. This was a hard shock for the band, and they needed some time for find a new drummer. Well, anyway, to talk about the music GIDEON SMITH & TDD have written six brilliant cuts, that are comparable with the album, but also showing another facette of the band's own interpretation of traditional southern death rock. Gideon Smith never needed to sound like Van Zandt, because he got his very own style, which ranges from early Elvis Presley to Lux Interior to Ian Astbury, but apart of all this name-dropping it's easy to hear that he's got a god-given talent and he's aware of this! Among the four additional musicians is also drummer Boo Creepy, who played conga on "Dionysus Child", a wonderful psychedelic ballad and Gideon Smith's vocals are absolutely on top. But the band also kicks some serious ass with "Disco Devil Forever, that reminds me to early Cramps or the hard rockin "Blood And Fire". Once again the group shows, that they have not much in common with bands like Five Horse Johnson, Dixie Witch, Alabama Thunderpussy etc. ('though all this are great bands!) and if you're looking for the next heavy southern badass riffage gang, than you should better listen to "Dealin' Decks" before buying it. But if you got a soft spot for good old rock 'n' roll, played in the most authentic way, and drenched in a warm soulful southern vibe, than I recommend this EP to you. I hope, that this release will open up new doors for Gid and his band as well as new listeners, too. And it will shorten the time until the release of the second album, which will hopefully see the light of day 2005 or 2006. "Dealin' Decks" should be interesting for a lot of people, and it's a living and powerful proof, that rock 'n' roll isn't dead!!! Fly on Freebird,.... fly on!!! (Klaus) www.cosmiclava.com ( Germany)

 

GIDEON SMITH AND THE DIXIE DAMNED - DEALIN' DECKS EP

"Rocker Gideon Smith has been mounting his own take on Southern acid rock tinged in the blues for over a decade now. This is the second release of the rotating crew of hot regional musicians pegged as The Dixie Damned. Dealin' Decks is an Italian import of six songs recorded over a 3 year period (2001-2004). The band kicks poseur rock in the nads while plowing through tracks reminescent of a Monster Magnet/White Zombie grinder and spiced with Smith's own lyrical outlook and bluesy, psychedelic Southern Rock. Smith & The Dixie Damned's first effort was Southern Gentlemen , released on Detroit's Small Stone Records a few years back." - Samir Shukla, Creative Loafing 2005

 

GIDEON SMITH AND THE DIXIE DAMNED 'DEALIN' DECKS" EP (SCAREY RECORDS)

"If Cowboys rode Harleys instead of horses, drank and smoked their way highway to highway, leading them on the pathway we'll call freewheel burning they would be Gideon Smith and the Dixie Damned.  This 6 song E.P. will toss the listener into so many memories that you will pull out all of your doom metal, elvis tapes (admit it you have several), classic stoner rock vinyl, only to return them all to their dust covered boxes and spin Dealin Decks a second time. 'Breakin Hearts and Horses' has a hard bluesy riff intro that never goes away, solid storytelling lyrics, and a message of aint gonna slow me down now. This is fun stuff from a group that has been relatively quiet since the 2001 offering of Southern Gentleman.  If you look at the group as an academic might you will begin to see sources quoting southern influences and discussing distractions, simplistic yet intentional guitar work, and lumping a strong stoner title on the work. I choose to think that very complicated decisions are made by this band pointing out track 3 Blood and Fire which although presented a normal sounding guitar solo seemed to place it at a tone that matched perfectly to the vocals and bass, which is never any sort of accident, and is seldom done correctly. The drum work is appealing and presents a pitch and aids instead of threatens the work. The writing is as odd as a novelist reading aloud at a fire, and finally there is even a touch of Greek mythology which is always a nail biter doomy subject. Great job. Get the album." John Ritondo aka Jalapenopope  Bad Attitude Radio 2004

 

GIDEON SMITH & THE DIXIE DAMNED 'SOUTHERN GENTLEMEN': (SMALL STONE RECORDS)

"At fucking last! Gid Smith and his unruly posse have stuck their ugly heads back out of the studio, this gritty disc clenched firmly between the teeth. It's been too long since the band had thrown some of their hard driving rock onto the shiny plastic. So I've been kinda short of alternatives for The Cult's "Electric", The Four Horsemen's "Nobody Said It Was Easy" and Five Horse Johnson's "No. 6 Dance".

But all is forgiven. Here's a bunch of great songs, a good dose of bludeoning riff-o-rama and a couple of shots of bourbon thrown in for good measure. My speakers have been dusted off thoroughly, right from the first spin. "She Is Venus" and "Draggin' The River" thump around savagely, looking for puny little eardrums to bully and an unsuspecting gut to rip. And they got me - ugh! Can you believe it's sheer fun to be struck over the head with electrified boogie of "Shovelin' Time"? Well it is. And I actually dig being yelled at by the infamous Mr. Smith himself. His voice sounds stronger than ever, without losing that soulful tone that makes a less muscular song like "Outerspace Girl" shine brightly.

The production on this one has taken a giant leap forward since their first EP on Game Two, but the true spirit remains. Just as I expected, the band still deliver the most straightforward brand of southern rock possible, done with such enthusiasm you simply gotta love 'em. Tough enough to take a giant block o' flaming dirtrock in the kisser? Piss off the neighbours, get "Southern Gentlemen". -Walter Hoeijmakers November, roadburn.com  2001

 

GIDEON SMITH & THE DIXIE DAMNED - Southern Gentlemen (Small Stone Records)

"After a sold-out EP on Game Two Records and a lot of touring activitis, the North Carolina based music scene veteran Gideon Smith is back with his new band and his full-length debut on one of my favourite labels, Detroit based Small Stone Records. And Small Stone stands for high quality!  What should I say, I love that release. It is something between The Cult, Black Sabbath, Allman Brothers, Lynryd Skynyrd, old Danzig or the famous Sister Double Happiness. The band showcases their southern heritage with full tilt blues based rock and roll. The songs grew organically (and in most cases psychedelically) like mushrooms in the wild. The masterpiece was recorded on a live-session using 50 year old microphones that the King Elvis himself once spouted off into, and a little of that crossroads magic. About the songs? Mmhh...I really love the voice of Gideon, he reminds me sometimes on the King himself or early Danzig stuff. Really really good!! I love that song OUTERSPACE GIRL, which is a hit! I can`t get this song out of my head. The band plays excellent and tight and they have the feeling for the right sound at the right time! The mentioned song is really outstanding, but the other material has the same quality indeed! Listen to WHISKEY DEVIL or THE WITCH`S HOUSE and you know what I mean. Simple but excellent Rock songs - that`s all - and a secret to play it so unique! And the slide-guitars roll on....Small Stone, please bring this band to Europe! This band will get big! Believe me!!! Genre: Swampy Southern Rock" - Ralf B Daredevil Magazine (Germany 2000)

Small Stone Recordings

GS Tribute Album

Cemetery Crows

C.Crows Gideon's side project doom metal, sludge, gothic blues band. You can check out a few songs from the early demo on the reverbnation page. Doom On.

https://www.reverbnation.com/cemeterycrows